When home becomes two places

I’ve been back in London catching up with people, seeing family and friends, my 3 week old niece – who already thinks night-time is for staying awake! – working in the London office, strangely the same and different all at the same time. I’ve been having a blast. We’ve been out doing something every night since I’ve been here I think, it hasn’t stopped ๐Ÿ™‚

And all the while I’ve been missing my friends back in NYC. My apartment. The plans that are being made, the parties and random nights out that I’ve been missing. It took me a little while to realise that home is now two places. And no matter which one I’m in I’ll always feel like I’m missing out in the other place as friends do fun and wonderful things.

So NYC is now my home, fact. And a huge chunk of making that is the friends I’ve been lucky enough to find in my first year there. And as for the missing out situation? No solution, just have to keep dealing with the missing out and realising how lucky I am to have such amazing friends in both places I call home.

2 thoughts on “When home becomes two places

  1. Sweetie, well said. While I have been a New Yorker for 9 years…. home is still in 2 places (though I never thought about it that way. It will forever torture you… This is the immigrant syndrome, and it never goes away. XOXO from us here in the big apple.

  2. You’re doing more in a week than 10 other people I know do in a month – combined. Doesn’t sound like missing out to me ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

