Well I did want pizza

It was 9.45pm on a Tuesday, I was excited as I’ve been craving pizza for the last two days and been walking passed Gino’s since I moved to the UES last July. Finally I would get to try it.

The place was almost deserted, OK it was 9.45 but this IS Manhattan.

We asked about getting a table from a slightly confused looking waiter. The chef when appealed to grunted and said we close the kitchen at 10pm, no more tables adding a pseudo gaelic shrug.  We mentioned it advertised they’re open till 11pm on the website and they insisted that was only on the weekend. My date pointed out that it wasn’t 10pm yet, but with the kitchen closed, no-one else in the restaurant and a couple of congealing pizza slices on the once hot counter I lost my desire for pizza…. and not sure I’ll bother trying to go back.

Leave a Reply

